Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Knee Pain  (Read 1386 times)

Offline karen1

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
  • User's Text
Knee Pain
« on: September 16, 2004, 02:06:04 PM »
Hi there, this is my first time on here so please bear with me.
A few years ago I trekked up a mountain in the Lake District and a few days later had pain in the upper part of my knee cap. I found that I could not put any weight at all on that leg when going up or downstairs due to the excruciating pain and the fact that my leg would just give way. I didnt see a doctor at this time (silly but my gp was never very helpful) but when I started feeling tenderness again a few months later I explained the situation to my GP who said it couldnt be the same injury and was probably age and wear and tear.
A day or 2 ago at work someone pushed open a door wuite forcefully and it caught me in the same spot on my kneecap and there is now a small bruise, with tenderness and I am beginning to feel the same pain in my knee, especially when going up and downstairs.
Does anyone know if this could be an aggravation of the earlier injury and if I should go back to the DR or just rest it for a few days?
Thanks  ::)

Offline Nettan

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 7
  • Stronger then yesterday...thanks Sis...
Re: Knee Pain
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2004, 06:25:49 PM »
Hey !!

Wait for some days and see if it get better, ice and rest and elevate. If you don't see any improvement maybe it's time to see a doc.

hugs nettan  ::)
Surgery 6 times left knee torn meniscus, RSDS,chondromalacia, nervdamage cause constant nervpain,chronic inflamm.
Spinaldamage wheeler 100%.
Right knee damaged aug-06, use brace surgery 4/9-07.LCL tear.

Offline karen1

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • User's Text
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2004, 06:38:51 PM »
Hiya

Thanks a lot. I will do that.  8)

Offline RGrelsamer, MD

• Forum Faithful
  • Liked: 1
  • User's Text
    • Ronald P. Grelsamer, MD