Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Osgood Schlatter's?  (Read 3190 times)

Offline lmcc6

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
  • User's Text
Osgood Schlatter's?
« on: September 08, 2004, 11:31:36 PM »
I am new to this kneeguru site, and i must say, it's great to see people communication with others suffering the same problems.  I never knew knee problems were so common!
My question to everyone is, do i have Osgood Schlatter's disease?  I developed a lump underneath my patella when i was 12, and it was painful when i played netball.  I wore an elastic support when playing, which helped a bit.  I'm now 19, and the problem has gotten so bad that even when i try to get to sleep my knee aches.  I can't kneel down, get off the ground without help, or even stand from sitting on a chair without looking 10 times my age!  My knee doesn't make any noises (thank goodness), but the lump does inflame to about twice it's size when i play sport.  The lump is always there and is now about the size of a yummy strawberry.
What do you all think it could be?  Is there anything that i can do?  Both my parents are doctors, and shrug it off saying that it's just growing pains (although i think i'm full grown by now), my gp just tells me to stop playing sport, and i have even had an x-ray, which showed a small bit of bone tissue on the top of my lump, but the doctor just laughed and told me to wear my support.   ???

Offline bdmrad

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 1
  • User's Text
Re: Osgood Schlatter's?
« Reply #1 on: September 09, 2004, 04:31:53 AM »
Sure sounds like Osgood Schlatter's. Like my son. Ibuprofen and rest help. Also the brace helps. He likes the McDavid jumpers knee brace - cheap, adjustable and comfortable
MPFL reconstruction 10/03

Offline stgiles16

• SuperKNEEgeek
    • My photo album
« Reply #2 on: September 09, 2004, 06:45:44 AM »
Both of my kids wear the jumpers knee brace for OSgoods too. Rest  and ibuprofen are all the GP and OS  recommended for my kids.