Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: my 4 year old son  (Read 938 times)

Offline maxine1602

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
  • User's Text
my 4 year old son
« on: September 08, 2004, 12:13:22 PM »
Hello, I have never used any thing like this before but feel very confused at the moment. I spent 3 hours in our local A&E dept on Monday night with my 4 yr old son, his brother had kicked him, sort of a tackle across the side of his shin, 3 hours later he was still unable to stand, infact he crumpled if he put any weight on his leg at all, so off we went to hospital! They x-rayed his knee said there was no damage to the bones and sent us home. Today he still cannot put any weight on his leg but he isn't in constant pain, only if he tries to use it, I am having to keep him off school, carry him everywhere and I have the feeling that I should be doing something more for him but I don't even know exactly what he has damaged? Please could someone give me some advice or tell me where I can get some. Thank you .

Offline wimple

• Forum Faithful
  • User's Text
Re: my 4 year old son
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2004, 12:21:54 PM »
Hi there, I'd take him to see your GP and see what they think, the A&E department should have at least told you what they thought was wrong (perhaps a minor ligament sprain or something) as sometimes its just a case of resting it for a few days. The A&E department should have let your GP know that you visited and what they found, so would definitely make that your first port of call as they can always refer you back to the hospital if necessary. If its just rest he needs then at least you know you're doing the right thing. I'm a mum to a 2 and a half year old and also a nursery teacher so can appreciate your concern. Hope you find some answers. Good Luck.

Offline AndrewC

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 2
  • User's Text
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2004, 06:47:13 PM »
Hey there....