Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Recent Knee Pain  (Read 897 times)

Offline JerryR

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
  • User's Text
Recent Knee Pain
« on: August 02, 2004, 12:25:31 AM »
I believe I hurt my knee walking downhill on a recent vacation.  After that, I danced a lot, and fast walked on a tread mill.

After resting the knee for several weeks, I started playing tennis and working out on a tread mill again.  The knee does not bother me during these times.

After exercise, and after sitting for a while, the knee is quite painful when I first get out of a chair.  After walking a bit, the pain goes away.  It does not bother me when I get out of bed in the morning, but hurts after it's been bent in a sitting position for a while.

I've read many articles regarding knee injuries and diseases, but none really matches the symptoms I'm experiencing.  Any suggestions as to my problem?  I have an appoinment with an orthopedist in two weeks, but I'd like to have some idea of my problem ahead of time.  Thanks.

Offline gainsborough

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • User's Text
Re: Recent Knee Pain
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2004, 12:37:36 PM »
An acquaintance, a male over 70, with arthritis, used to do a little jogging each week, until a knee became too painful to stand upon or walk with, although it could be flexed otherwise.
Steroid was injected into the knee which somewhat reduced the pain.
He then switched from jogging to cycling, resulting in a significant improvement enabling him to start walking again.  

Offline Heather M.

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 10
    • Check out my photography!
« Reply #2 on: August 03, 2004, 03:35:08 AM »
Your description is pretty classic for chondral lesions (also called chondromalacia, articular cartilage damage).  The main symptom you describe is even called the theater sign--i.e. that the pain comes after sitting for brief periods of time, as one would do in a theater.