Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: chondomalacia patella both knees  (Read 233 times)

Online Ruby.P

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 2
chondomalacia patella both knees
« on: January 09, 2020, 08:02:59 AM »
I'm a fit & healthy 51 year old with knees that 7 months ago decided to suddenly make my life hell.  Always had on and off pain but nothing that I couldn't work around for example if I ran they hurt, so I've always exercised
 with what I thought was care as already had various operations to shoulders, elbow, back injuries etc.  Had noticed over the past year or two more frequent sharp patella pain when kneeling & walking down slopes anyway in June 2019 I bought myself a cross trainer for the gym and after going on it several times I had a sudden acute pain in the medial side of the right knee which left me unable to weight bear - luckily I'm a nurse and work with a good orthopaedic surgeon, had an mri scan which showed early patellafemoral osteoarthritis and grade 2 to 3 chrondomalacia patella.  Sent me to a physio which unfortunately made the problem worse. To summarise I ended up on crutches, had to use a wheelchair to go on holiday,  had a brace, couldn't work - then my left knee "went" aswell.  Had a further Mri on right knee to check why it wasn't improving and got my left knee scanned - same problem there too.  So I've been religiously doing the physio exercises daily and I was convinced they were irritating my knees - it's like a double edged sword, they need to be done for strength but seem to be making it worse.  I decided over Xmas to see a chiropracter- said I have internally rotating patella, knock knees and all the physio I'd been doing was a waste of time (straight leg raises, wall squats - the usual textbook stuff). Gave me 4 specific  exercises to work my glutes, and quads, made me orthotics and within a week the acute pain has gone, it's the first time in months that I have true optimism that I'll get back to work - I tried but on