Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: 5 wks after my LR, Back in the saddle!  (Read 2401 times)

Offline remarque

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
  • User's Text
5 wks after my LR, Back in the saddle!
« on: March 19, 2004, 09:52:59 AM »
Hi everyone,
I am new here but thought I would put in my 10 cents after my surgery.I found this site 2 weeks before my LR surgery February 11,2004. I would read everything I could find out about LR. My OS said it would be no big deal and I would be back to work riding horses in 2 to 3 weeks. I did the surgery and then as I went thru this site some more and I was worried that I had been misled by my OS after reading the scarey stories some of you guys have had. I felt I was in for a really long haul in the recovery dept. I will admit I was very very worried. If I don't ride, I don't get paid. That whole selfemployed thing! I am a big FEI dressage trainer and rider, and have done this my whole life. Pain is not an option for me. My knee finally went bad in October but I tried other forms of pt and drug therapy to avoid surgery. Didn't work!

Had the surgery on Wed morning, went to work Friday just to teach, then Sunday I went to a clinic 4 hours away that I was invited to ride in, to watch our USA Team Coach teach. (Timing is everything) I got the invite to ride with our coach the day after I made the surgery arrangments. Monday I was off the crutches and fully weight bearing and driving my beloved truck. BY the following week I was off all pain meds. I still am on Vioxx but I have been on that for 3 years due to a pending back surgery. Totally different subject. I also ice every night.