Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: A Positive Post  (Read 596 times)

Offline PwordsB

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 13
A Positive Post
« on: October 10, 2018, 01:03:04 PM »
Hi, guys. Just a quick bit of encouragement for those who felt like I did until today. I'm 28 and had a snowboarding accident in 2016 whilst living in the Alps.

I have been recovering from various major surgeries for three years, nearly. I was hopeless and helpless and nothing seemed to work. I was told two years ago and many times since that I would never snowboard again, which was my favourite thing and where I felt at home. I continued to work hard relentlessly on my rehab and ended up in surgery again nine weeks ago. Continuing to work hard and not give up the idea that I can make it home, I kept pushing.

Today, after years of misery and pain, my new surgeon has told me that if I keep up my hard work without overdoing it, and with a little luck, I may be snowboarding again in 18 months.

I will never make it close to the standard I was at, but I have been given more hope today that I may make it back to that world. So, please, no matter how dark and awful you're feeling, work hard, be clever, be careful and do not give up. Maybe a year from now I'll be in surgery again, but for now, I feel fantastic and so massively grateful to myself for not letting this burden crush me!

Keep strong, friends!
Snowboard injury 21/01/16
Open cartilage graft (Chondrotissue) 29/06/16
Sub-total lateral meniscectomy, LTP cartilage removal 20/01/17
11mm Closing Medial DFO and LTP Microfracture 10/08/18

Offline Kucove

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
    • https://traproulette.com
Re: A Positive Post
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2018, 02:22:15 PM »
Being able to walk properly seemed like a blessing even for your accident, but the ability to snowboard again after only 18 months is something that's amazing in its own right.

Congratulations and keep strong my friend! Thanks for sharing.