Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Oh Crap!!  I've got Rheumatoid Arthritis !?!?  (Read 13955 times)

Offline The KNEEguru

• Administrator
  • SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 96
  • The KNEEguru
    • The KNEEguru
Re: Oh Crap!!  I've got Rheumatoid Arthritis !?!?
« Reply #15 on: July 27, 2002, 02:08:22 AM »
Keep in mind that one can have common knee things at the same time as uncommon autoimmune things ...

An anecdote - for what it is worth ...
Many years ago, in England, as a young doctor, I was familiar with some rather obscure research about RA being caused (maybe 'triggered') by what seemed to be an infection, and at the time it was mooted that this infecting organism might be an amoeba. It seemed that frequently a perfectly healthy person would suddenly have an acute flu-like illness, then inflammation of multiple joints, and then much later the type of joint destruction of RA.  This was largely poo-poohed at the time, but other people became interested and started to look at other rather unusual infecting organisms, like rickettsia.
I had worked in Africa, where tick-bite fever is common, and was familiar with rickettsia.
Anyway, to cut a long story short, one day, out of the blue, I woke up with the small joints of all my fingers and feet swollen and painful.  I could not remove my ring. My ankles pained so much that walking to the bathroom was miserable. I felt flu-ey.  Everthing in me screamed 'RHEUMATOID ARTHRITIS'!
I put myself straight onto some metronidazole (which I had in the house at the time) and which is used for the  type of infection I have been referring to.  Within two days I was fine.  Several weeks later, I bumped into a friend, who told me that at about the same time she had had a similar episode and now she had been diagnosed with RA.