Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Severe knee pain lasting hours after hikes (had surgery in the past)  (Read 194 times)

Offline higgs

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Hi guys,
Hope everyone is okay and in a good place with them knees!
Happy to have found a place where people with issues like mine can seek help online.
I confess I don't know what to expect from seeking help online, but I think that screams desperation...

I'll keep this straight to the point as much as possible. By the way, my name is Tiago Higgs and I am a Motion Designer (Sky Tv ads and stuff like that).
height: 1.79
weight: 70kg (154lbs)
Which knee: RIGHT side
ibuprofen allergy (great...)

I have always been very active, football, skateboard, hiking, gym and rock climbing (went by phases). Today I hike and rock climb.
Some 7/8 years ago, a pain on my right knee started to appear, nothing that would make me cry or anything...so I let it go.
Soon Skateboard and football had to be stopped as I felt the fast twisting motions and impact were too much AFTER doing it.

Situation 01
Fast forward, 4 years ago when simply strolling around Paris for a day...it felt much worse. We're talking sight seeing with no weight on me.
Symptoms:
come the 4th ish hour of stroll, the pain gradually comes in and by the 6th hour I HAVE to be in bed. It's cry time and my wife has to seek for ice.
I can't turn on my LEFT side in bed cause for that to happen, my RIGHT leg has to rotate over the left and in that process, my lower leg's weight pulling sideways on the knee (gravity) is unbearable...only if I have pillows supporting inside both legs it is possible.
It also feels like only when leg is extended I can actually breathe. Bending it is almost impossible.
Absolutely zero visible swelling.
The pain would last some serious 24h and the only way I could walk next day is limping with a knee brace. Taking regular pauses to sit.