Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Snowboarder tears ACL while trying to Ski  (Read 427 times)

Offline tamara.ah

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 1
Snowboarder tears ACL while trying to Ski
« on: March 19, 2018, 10:15:04 AM »
I am a little late to this whole post-diaries game but I still wanted to begin documenting my long journey. I am a month post-op so I will give a quick introduction. First my name is Tamara, I am 27 years old with an adorable energetic 18 month old daughter.

I live in upstate NY, I have been snowboarding for 10+ years and decided to try and challenge myself by learning how to ski. I was in complete denial about my abilities, the day before going out for a second time I was watching YouTube videos about how to do back flips while skiing.

The next day I went skiing, I was skiing backwards down the beginner slope (bunny hill as we call it) then decided to go up a green trail. My first run of the day, my goal was to begin working on controlling my speed using turns. I was going too fast and was a bit out of control. There was a snowboarder in front of me and I panicked so I decided to fall down instead of potentially running into them and injuring them. I sat on my bum and my ski's started to slide to the left when I heard a loud pop. I was on the ground for a few minutes just trying to get it together. I decided I was going to just walk down the mountain. I took my skis off and after taking two steps it popped again. Ski patrol came and a guy named "Pat" (which is my husbands name) came to get me and give me some medical attention. He said I probably dislocated it or possibly tore something. He asked me to take a few steps when it popped again. I immediately went to convenient care. Their they took an x-ray and gave me an immobilizer for my knee to wear until I could see the orthopedic surgeon.