Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: 4 months post acl and partial menisectomy  (Read 1271 times)

Offline Wakebum

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
4 months post acl and partial menisectomy
« on: October 29, 2017, 06:37:19 AM »
Hi there! I am exactly 4 months post Acl and partial menisectomy (bucket handle tear). Got it from wakeboarding. I have been doing rehab almost 4 times a week. I started to feel this kind of pain 5 weeks after surgery and im still feeling it until now. Pain is located on the lower side of knee behimd the head of the fibula (its the rounded tiny bone which you can see at the outer side of the knee). I feel it usually when I do split squats (kneeling on the operated knee). But as it warns up I become use to it and pain decreases. I also feel it when its my first time to do new excercises in rehab like jumps or single leg jumps. To site an example, before when it was my first time to do sit to stand exercises, i really felt it and it was really annoying and painful. But now, when I do sit to stand exercises with weights, it has lessen and sometimes I dont feel it at all. I also feel it at certain angles when I move my leg especially when Im in bed. Its like this sharp stabbing pain inside the muscle or something else. I dont feel it while walking or running in the treadmill. But I feel it while running on flats. My surgeon told me its referred pain caused by the minesectomy and it would go away in time. I also consulted another doctor and he told me its because of my tight hamstrings and advised me to stretch a lot. I know to myself that Im doing progress in rehab but it really confuses me sometimes if I am progressing or I am stuck in this phase. I guess acl with meniscus surgery recovery is way different from just an acl recovery. Im just trying to be patient about it and wanted to get back to sports at the right time.  Would love and appreciate to hear toughts on this. Thanks!!!