Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Torn Meniscus  (Read 512 times)

Offline kwood79

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Torn Meniscus
« on: August 17, 2017, 03:36:56 PM »
This is my first time posting, I'll give you a little background. I'm 37 years old with advanced arthritis in my left knee. I was told in 2005 that I would be looking at total knee replacement in 5 years. I've managed to not need it thankfully, but I've lived with discomfort in that knee for 12 years. Almost 2 years ago I tried the rooster injections in my left knee and I was happy with the results. A couple months ago I noticed that my right knee was starting to be an issue so I ended up getting a second round of rooster injections in the left, and the first round in the right. Everything was fine until the last injection. 2 days after my left knee began to swell and I had pain and limited movement. The knee dr drained 20CC's of fluid and gave it a steroid injection and said that with my advanced arthritis this was something that can happen. 2 days later the knee effusion returned, I went back to the dr and he pulled of 80cc of fluid and said it was a fluke it probably wouldn't come back. 2 days later it was back again, by this point I'm in pain, having a reaction to the pain meds, I couldn't sleep and I felt like they weren't taking my pain seriously.

I insisted on getting an MRI, and he consulted with another dr that it may be time to scope my knee and see if they could do a synvectomy. I had the MRI done this past tuesday and I"m scheduled to meet with my dr tomorrow. I have a friend who works where the MRI was done and she told me that the MRI shows I have a torn meniscus. I've been looking online, and I see articles saying that you should still be weight bearing and not in much pain from a meniscus tear, however I'm on crutches, I can weight bear, but not able to walk stable, and the pain is unbearable, especially at night.