Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: New Member - can you help?  (Read 922 times)

Offline faith

• Forum Faithful
  • Liked: 0
  • User's Text
New Member - can you help?
« on: February 22, 2004, 01:06:07 PM »
Hi - I'm new to this but could do with some help or support from you!

I have had recurrent problems with my right knee for the last 22 years.  Have had an arthroscopy and tibial osteotomy and am still in constant pain.  Could sit and cry it hurts so much.  :'(

I'm waiting for another arthroscopy this year as my consultant can't seem to make the situation any better.  Have had numerous scans and x-rays but no-one can get to the root of the problem.

I have pain round the outside of my knee joint, always worse when I put my weight on it when it's bent.  I can pinpoint the pain very specifically - just above my knee cap on the outside.  Is this the iliotibial band?  

I'm taking 8 co-proxamols a day as well as indomethacin, which doesn't do much.  I have a bledsoe brace which helps but do any of you have any other ideas as to what I can do about the pain?!?  Other than "live with it" ?!!
R knee arthroscopy 1991; tibial osteotomy 1992; metalwork removed 1993; arthroscopy and lateral release 2004; ossicle removal 2007; arthroscopic debridement 2010; PFJR 2012; scar tissue removal & debridement 2013

Offline Linds

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 3
  • worry about what you can change!
    • Linney and Kitty's Website
Re: New Member - can you help?
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2004, 02:15:10 PM »
Hi Faith, welcome to the board, if you are looking for help and support in the area of BAD knees..you have found it. ;D This is a great place to find out information and also just vent sometimes.  ::)
I am sorry to hear that you have had such problems with your knees.  :-/ It is so very frustrating, I am right there with you.