Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Ruptured patella tendon right knee - new post  (Read 2175 times)

Offline Pillsy

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 2
Ruptured patella tendon right knee - new post
« on: May 18, 2016, 12:37:44 PM »
Hi guys, I really need help and advice. On Sunday I slipped off a step and ruptured my right patella tendon. Their was instant pain and a gap between the knee and the quadriceps . I went to A and E and they operated on it on Monday morning. I'm not entirely sure what they did. As it was done on the national health service here in England, they kind of rushed through the information saying that they had put sutures in. Does anyone know what that really means? I am at home now in a cricket splint with antibiotics and pain killers. On Friday I am due to have the dressing changed. Can anybody help me about the recovery process. I am a physical education teacher and I need to know when I can get back to work. In addition I am an avid sportsman. Tennis is my main sport.i'm sorry to be so naive about it but the information I received was scant and most of the time I was under morphine!
Any advice would be appreciated
Pillsy
U.K.

Offline ladeyemi

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 12
  • Left ruptured patellar tendon, 7-Mar-2016, 27
Re: Ruptured patella tendon right knee - new post
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2016, 10:13:19 AM »
Hi Pillsy,

I did mine on the 07 March 2016, it was explained to me in quite a detailed way. My understanding is that the sutures are put in place of where your tendon was and as you heal your tendon will regrow around the sutures. Whenever you go in to see your surgeon/physio go in with a pre-prepared list of questions.

I'm about four months since the surgery. London based, 26 when it happened, 27 now. I played a lot of sport (footy 3-4 times a week), go to the gym etc so would describe myself as pretty fit/active. Will try to give you a brief summary of me so far.