Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Kneecap fracture  (Read 640 times)

Offline Apie2546

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Kneecap fracture
« on: April 11, 2016, 05:56:06 AM »
Hello everyone,

My name is Andrew. I need some help with my injury or understanding it. So I am a firefighter in Texas. We were called out to a brush fire on the side of a mountain which is nothing special because we spent 71 hours on one two days before. So I was up there in my coat and water pack spraying out a tree limb when all of a sudden I heard a crack and I fell on top of it. I scrambled to get off the limb because it was on fire and heard another crack and I fell again but in the black. I had two other firefighters help me off the mountain in a lot of pain. The best the ER said was I dislocated it and upon relocation cracked my knee cap. That was a week and a half ago.I was put in an immobilizer and given pain medicine.

After a few days I began using a wheel chair and eventually into crutches and then down to one crutch to limp on. Now I have removed the knee immobilizer, and I have began walking with both crutches. I can walk without a crutch but fits sketchy. Bending my knee fully puts strain on two muscles on either side of my knee. I also cannot lift it under my own power with out using my hands to assist.

Is that normal? Is it just muscles that need healing? I've never broken a bone before. I'm not sure of tendon damage. I just had an MRI done and I'm waiting on that. In the er they said acl/MCL/pcl all seemed fine. Also when should this unsure feeling go away? Jerking it too fast hurts too obviously. Thank you for any and all advice

Offline Alane

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Re: Kneecap fracture
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2016, 04:10:44 PM »