Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Bilateral patellofemoral replacement questions  (Read 3897 times)

Offline hredmond2

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Bilateral patellofemoral replacement questions
« on: March 11, 2015, 07:13:49 PM »
I am 39 years old (as of yesterday  :'() and will be having bilateral patellofemoral replacement surgery in a few weeks. I have currently had a total of 8 surgeries, 4 on each knee, since 2009, including Fulkerson osteotomies on each knee and cartilage resurfacing on each knees. Obviously this is the next step. I was wondering if anyone has had the bilateral replacements and could give me any insight about healing, recovery, hospital time, back to work, back to driving, etc. I am a teacher and hoping to go back to work in 1-2 weeks max from my surgery date and back to the gym shortly after, but I fear I may be unrealistic. Insights from anyone?

Offline Mr.F

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 3
Re: Bilateral patellofemoral replacement questions
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2015, 01:46:15 AM »
Hredmond2,
I just read your post and started to laugh (and so did my son).  I have had 8 operations on each knee (clean out with lateral and distal realignment on each knee,Fulkersons on each knee, and bilateral PFR and revisions on both knees).  I am a teacher and I had the PFR when I was 35.  I returned to work 3 weeks after surgery. 

Let me start off by saying everyone experiences something different when they have replacements.  With this being said I would say there is no chance to get back to work in 2 weeks.  I was in a wheelchair for several weeks and could not drive.  I was forced back to work in 3 weeks.  If not I would have taken more time to recover.

As for driving what type of car do you have (automatic or stick)?  I had a stick shift and my wife had to drive me to work for at least 2 months.  I do not know what the recovery time would be for an automatic car.  Talk to your OS and then use your judgement.