Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Odd knee tightness  (Read 4053 times)

Offline thebigboywiththebutter

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Odd knee tightness
« on: March 07, 2015, 05:34:23 PM »
    First off, i'm asking because i do not have the money to see a doctor, haven't been able to find any info about this specific problem on the internet, and not being able to find an answer for months on end has been bothing me. i realize this is a lot to read, so i don't expect a lot of answers.

New to weight training, and i've been squatting for about 5 months now, and about a month and a half ago i started noticing some tightness, crepitus, and slight pain, as well as perceived instability (no real signs of instability) when standing for periods of time, but only a few days after squatting and the pain and tightness was only when i sat for long peroids, which, along with further scrutiny, made me think it was patellofemoral pain syndrome. I did some vmo strengthening, ankle mobility and hip mobility, and i'd say i'm sufficiently mobile in those areas. So i just had a squat day after three weeks of not squatting, never any pain while squatting as usual, but it's 4 days later and i'm having the same tightness (no pain) in the vastus medialis insertion as well as knee popping (which i've had since i can remember) when extending under no resistance. I understand squat mechanics quite well, so i've perfected my squat to the best of my knowledge since, so i'm not sure how much it has to do with form. I did have some pretty nasty falls (skateboarding) as a kid, and one that stands out is when i smashed my knee (not sure how traumatic it was, as it healed quickly), never went to a doctor but i had never had any symptoms after it got better. I did have some numbness over the knee cap for years to come, but that has since gone away.