Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: My knee pain - is it IT band/tight hip flexors?  (Read 2045 times)

Offline AWolf

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
My knee pain - is it IT band/tight hip flexors?
« on: March 01, 2015, 06:41:30 AM »
I've been battling a knee issue for about four months that's been debilitating at times, and has kept me from my normal exercise regimen. I've seen a PT who didn't provide the feedback I was hoping for, and so I've come here seeking some advice.

The story:

I do a considerable amount of cycling and had never had any trouble in 3 years of almost daily riding with the outside of my knees. But one day, out of the blue, I developed an awful pain right on the outside of my left knee, that radiated above and below, and centered significantly on the fibula head and even around and down the upper part of the calf. The pain was so severe that I could hardly walk, and certainly couldn't climb stairs or exercise. After a week of ice and rest, I was able to heal. After a couple of weeks, I attempted to bike again, only to end with the same result. This cycle has gone on 2-3 other times, and I've often given myself 2-4 weeks between rides to allow the knee to completely heal before trying again.

In all of this, there a few observations that I've been able to make that might help lead to a cause:

1. It seems to be a use-pain only. Even while on my bike and in pain, if I stop pedaling, there is no pain or almost no pain at all. Likewise, if I'm standing still, or sitting in a chair and not moving the knee, it is completely pain-free. But when I move it, the pain is instantly present.

2. The pain worsens in the 15-20 minutes following a ride, even if I stretch immediately.

3. The IT band, in the area where it can be felt just above the knee, feels tighter/more pronounced than the right.