Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Knee injury + Workers Compensation... an unholy union....  (Read 893 times)

Offline SarahMontana

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Knee injury + Workers Compensation... an unholy union....
« on: February 26, 2015, 05:04:38 PM »
Hey all, I am new around here, but not new to knee problems. I am a retail manager, and have been for about 8 years now, so my knees have had to deal with a fair share of strain and stress (on concrete, no less!) On Black Friday 2012, I turned my right knee, continued to work on it for 6 hours, and finally took myself to an urgent care facility. They sent me home with crutches and told me to follow up in a week. Diagnosis: Knee sprain. My company stepped in and sent me to a different doctor (one on their plan) and had me seen by them a week post accident. Had xrays and MRI's, both showed no major problems (despite my tremendous pain). Was out of work sitting around for 1 month, and then sent to PT for a month with no decrease in pain. (Very sharp, lower right, about 5pm on a clock, if you are looking at my kneecap). Was sent back to work, and within hours, my knee and ankle were swollen to high hell. (I purchased a knee brace to stabilize to prevent further issues). Had to work for an entire week this way, and then was pulled out of work, sat at home for 3 weeks and finally sent an hour away to Nashville (was residing in Clarksville, TN at the time) to see an OS. He gave me a cortisone shot and it was back to work for me. No decrease in pain. OS reviewed my MRI again, and determined we needed to scope. April 2013 procedure:
1. Right knee arthroscopy
2. partial medial mesiscectomy
3. removal lateral suprapatellar plica
4. Partial synovectomy
5. Patellar chondroplasty
*Please note, the OS didn't know I had torn my meniscus until scope was performed!*