Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: What have I done? :(  (Read 1596 times)

Offline LeanneWhite87

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
  • Liked: 0
What have I done? :(
« on: January 27, 2015, 01:58:03 PM »
Hi guys, I'm in need of some advice/reassurance if possible.

My knee history in brief is that it's been giving out easily and popping since I was 5 years old. For years this was just put down to growing pains etc... but no real investigation was done until 2008 when I had an arthroscopy for torn meniscus after my 3rd patella dislocation. I then had another arthroscopy in 2012 after a 4th dislocation in which I had some overgrown tissue removed (sorry I'm not good with all the terminology).

5 1/2 weeks ago I slipped down the stairs and the twisting motion caused yet another patella dislocation. After a few minutes of laying in agony in relocated so I saw no need to go to the hospital (I've never had to have it manually relocated before).
The swelling was extreme to the point that it cut off the circulation to the lower half of my leg for 2 days.
I saw the Dr who recommended I go to the hospital but as a busy mum of 3 with a husband who works full time and it being 2 days before Christmas I said no. (In hindsight I wish I had listened to him)
He took an X-ray which showed the patella was in the right place, no fracture but a large amount of fluid leaking in to the joint. He gave me pain killers, told me to rest up and see him again 4 days later.

After I saw him 4 days later I was sent straight to physiotherapy who immediately put my leg in a brace and gave me crutches. I've been seeing them once a week ever since.

However now, here I am 5 1/2 weeks post injury and although I can weight bear and no longer use the brace I cannot fully extend my leg, I can bend it to about 90 degrees and almost get it straight but there is something preventing it from extending quite to the full amount.