Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Possible MUA or scope  (Read 2250 times)

Offline loverlylg14

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Possible MUA or scope
« on: November 11, 2014, 05:58:10 AM »
Hi All,

In February I had a synovectomy on my left knee, I know that usual recovery is like nothing and people are back on their feet within 2 weeks. However, I was on crutches for a month and could not bend my knee or straighten it immediately after surgery and for the next 10 months. I kept thinking it would get better but I still can bend it without intense pain and cannot run. The doctor gave me the choice of MUA or a scope to break up possible scar tissue. I was just wondering since I am a school teacher, how long the recovery for MUA is and what ya'll think. They thought I had nerve damage and gave me neurontin and mobic and it did nothing, they also drained a lot of fluid from my knee with no improvement as well as giving me cortisone shots. after 1 month of Pt I was told my ROM had gotten worse and they didn't think they could help. I'm at a loss of what to do!!! Ideas??? My recent MRI also says that I have a sprained ACL and scarring on my Hoffa's pad, both of which should not cause as much pain as i'm experiencing.

Thank You!  Lauren

Offline Scubagrl4

• Forum Faithful
  • Liked: 43
Re: Possible MUA or scope
« Reply #1 on: November 12, 2014, 03:27:09 AM »
After 10 months, I don't think an MUA is a good idea. Even though the thought of more surgery sucks, you also don't want to waste any more time being hurt. I had an MUA after 3 months and ended up with damaged cartilage and a lateral meniscus tear. I also lost a few degrees of extension. I had no pain relief until the scar tissue in my knee was actually removed along with proper rehab for arthrofibrosis. I just think after 10 months you would be taking a big risk with only a small chance for improvement.
Just my own personal opinion. I wish I hadn't wasted my time with a MUA.