Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: I hit my knee with a fresh ACL reconstruction pretty hard  (Read 677 times)

Offline dstufli

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
I hit my knee with a fresh ACL reconstruction pretty hard
« on: October 08, 2014, 12:45:40 AM »
Hello!

I'm new to knee injuries. First time ACL reconstruction using an allograft on 9/23/2014.

I hit the injured knee pretty hard into a car tire that was turned fully sideways and sticking out beyond a car's side body while walking. I'm positive the hit was square, with no twisting or lateral movement. It did however make my leg go straight when I did it, but it didn't feel like hyperexstension.

There was a good amount of pain right when it happened, but I remained standing. I wasn't able to ice for around 4 hours and it swelled up slightly more than it was from surgery. I feel like I lost about 2-4 days of pain control, meaning that the next day I felt like I was in recovery from 4 days ago. Having had such a recent surgery, the pain goes down quite a bit each day.

Is there any chance I damaged the graft? I don't feel any instability like I did when I tore the ACL. I felt a bit of instability when it originally tore, and my PT told me I "tore the ACL off the femur". That sounds like it would cause a lot of instability, but I only felt a bit unstable. This time I didn't feel unstable at all.

This happened Sunday, went to the Dr. on Monday for a 2 week post-op. He didn't seem too concerned by what he saw, but I'm still worried. I did my first PT today (Tuesday), and that went pretty well, no excessive amounts of pain.

Thoughts?

Thanks!

Offline Snowy

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 93
Re: I hit my knee with a fresh ACL reconstruction pretty hard
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2014, 07:31:28 AM »