Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: ACL Graft Rupture or Meniscal Tear?  (Read 1061 times)

Offline panickyteenager

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
ACL Graft Rupture or Meniscal Tear?
« on: August 11, 2014, 10:33:04 PM »
Hello everyone, I'm a newbie on this website and even after reading a bunch of posts about graft rupture, I still had to reassure my condition before I see my therapist tomorrow.

Yesterday, as stupid as I am, I accepted a challenge to race a short distance from this dude, me on crutches with 2 seconds head start and him one legged. As all races are to me, I got competitive and when he was passing me I tried going faster, causing to accidently step with my right leg, a high impact for someone 2.5 weeks post-op, peg walking with one or two crutch(es).

What scared me most is I think I heard a pop with pain behind my knee. After a minute or two though, I could still peg walk and bend and straighten my leg.

As of now, full extension is a bit uncomfortable ONLY behind my knee even down to the calf area. Everything else feels the same. No swelling and no pain on top or even inside the knee. No pain on kneecap.

I got an ACL reconstruction surgery with meniscal repair 2.5 weeks ago with autograph from my hamstring tissue.

Is graft rupture supposed to be painful and what is this most likely be?

Thank you for reading.
Abigail

Offline monsterknee

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
Re: ACL Graft Rupture or Meniscal Tear?
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2014, 10:48:28 PM »
the pop sound could have been just about anything. you should call your surgeon and he'll be able to evaluate a with a lachman test if your acl is still intact(ie firm ending point)

Offline Snowy

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 93
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2014, 10:26:59 PM »
If you didn't twist the leg, then hopefully you didn't harm the graft - but given the pain that you experienced when this happened, it's still a good idea to get it checked out.