Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Please help. Knee getting worse!!!???  (Read 1405 times)

Offline nurseshark

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Please help. Knee getting worse!!!???
« on: July 25, 2014, 11:42:51 AM »
I'm an emergency department nurse so I have a good range of knowledge on this subject and a great pool of resources to get advice from. My problem is the advice seems to not be following.

On the 5th of May I was practising my jump spin kicks at kickboxing, the day after a big grading. My instructor wasn't happy with them, and even though my knee went he kept making me do them. My symptoms appeared later but there was no 'pop' and nothing cracked. I have full range of movement, no boney tenderness, and I can walk on my knee fine. When I got it examined by one of my department's consultants, he said it was an MCL sprain and should take 4 - 6 weeks to repair and that I should have a slow reintroduction to sports. I saw my occupational health physiotherapist at work and he said without a scan he can't give me a definitive diagnosis but said that it seems like my knees are quite unstable because my patellas ride laterally when I bend my knees on both sides (I hear a click when I bend my knees ever since childhood). He said to rest it and work on some exercises he gave me for strengthening my quads and core. My MCL no longer hurts. At the point of that physio appointment he said I only felt a little tenderness in a small area of my MCL so it was almost fully healed.

My kickboxing instructors made me work harder than I was comfortable with and although my ligaments feel fine my medial quadriceps is aching a lot lately. I have 2 weeks off from work and I'm spending it relaxing my leg with elevation.

What I want to know is:
1. Is this now a muscle strain?
2. How long for it to return to normal and be pain free altogether?
3. Are there any exercises I can do while it mends? I don't want to strain it further while I try and strengthen it!