Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: LFC MicroFx Recovery for a Climber/Ski Mountaineer- A Journey  (Read 896 times)

Offline seabass

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Hi All- I'm new to knee guru and thought I'd pop in and give a report of 3 years post micro fracture surgery.  I scoured the web for info when I was in more acute recovery, so figured someone might benefit from my journey.

I'm an active 35 yr old lady (alpine/big wall climber/ski mountaineer). I was pursing my mountain guiding certification and living in Hong Kong when I tour my meniscus. When the surgeon went in, he found  a hole in my lateral femoral condyle, a little bigger than the size of a quarter as well as a partial miniscus tear.  I forget all of medical details to describe it. If it's important to anyone, I'll track down the specifics.

I was militant/ocd about my recovery. Non-weight bearing for 6 weeks, knee in the leg bender machine exactly as prescribed, pt as prescribed, etc. I had an AMAZING physical therapist and my pt (from 2 months- 18mths) was manual therapy heavy. This supported the recovery process greatly.  My pt would prescribe physical training that I did on my own because I have a deep background in training and could be relatively self directed for this. The time I spent in the office was largely spent with manual therapy.

What follows is a list of my physical endeavors and how I've managed (or not!) my knee.  Perhaps you can learn from my process.

During months 3-5, I worked up to 6 miles of hiking over coastal mountainous terrain and spent a lot of time surfing.