Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Was my TTT a failure?  (Read 902 times)

Offline clentz94

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Was my TTT a failure?
« on: April 25, 2014, 05:23:38 PM »
Hello, I am an almost 20-year-old college student with a six year history of a bad left knee.
It all started in about 2008 when I planted my foot in a hole in my grandmother's backyard and felt a "pop."  Since then, I have had hundreds of subluxations and a few dislocations.  I sublux laterally almost daily.
My Dr. says that I have a horrible tilt on my patella, and that my knee is one of the most unstable he knees he has ever seen.
In 2010 I had a lateral release and arthroscopic debridement which was utterly unsuccessful.  I had no relief at all.  I dare say it became worse than before.
Two years later (Summer 2012), I had Medial Patellafemoral Ligament Reconstruction (cadaver ligament).  Still no relief and my knee drove me CRAZY. June 2013 I was standing still and fell at my university, and literally tore the ligament and all its anchoring from my knee.  This was the worst pain I have ever felt, and my boyfriend took me to the emergency room immediately because it felt as if I had done something far more serious.  I saw my OS and he scheduled Tibial Tubercle Osteotomy which he performed July 7.  That surgery was absolute hell, and the rehab was rough, too. 
On a positive note, my knee and the surrounding area does feel stronger than before, but a year later I am now experiencing shooting pain down my shin (I assume from screws).  I have read on here that most people have their hardware removed after one year?  I feel this would help pain.