Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: TTT, is it worth it?  (Read 1006 times)

Offline emgo7

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
TTT, is it worth it?
« on: April 17, 2014, 04:03:45 AM »
Hi everyone,

I'm 20 years old and dislocated my right kneecap about a month ago. 5 days after the initial dislocation, it happened again (just from me getting in to bed). Since then, I haven't dislocated it again, started physical therapy and feel relatively confident walking with out my brace on (my brace falls off my leg and is pretty much useless anyway).

I went to a OS consult today feeling optimistic that I would be told I just had to stick to PT, when he suggested a TTT. Something about my bones being misaligned. I'm a college student and am really busy/active. I feel like I don't have time to spend months in painful recovery. I don't want to rush in to getting the surgery either, the surgery itself scare mes.

I also had a DVT and several PEs in September of '13 and now I'm on blood-thinners (Coumadin for 6 mos and now I'm on Xarelto). This scares me even more knowing that I'm prone to blood clots.

I'm obviously going to get a second and third opinion from docs but I'm wondering if sticking with PT will be enough for me or if TTT is inevitable. What do you think and what were your experiences? Thank you!

Emily  :)

Offline Vickie.91

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Re: TTT, is it worth it?
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2014, 10:09:43 AM »