Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Too young to give up running at the age of just 35!  (Read 1654 times)

Offline Clarkey

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 75
  • Neil TheElephant knee packed up carrying his trunk
Too young to give up running at the age of just 35!
« on: March 08, 2014, 04:08:31 PM »
Warning to members,

I just would like to know how many members on KG at around my age or younger have had to give up competitive level running. Since Primary School onwards been a competitive long distance runner despite having some knee problems to contend with.

I saw my OS on Wednesday 5th March 2014, I was expecting that I will need a 2nd exploratory scope on my right knee that I am fine about. I am having it done on Friday 18th July 2014.

I could have had the surgery done earlier and chose not to; the reason being I am studying until mid July at a college in Worcester as well as helping out as a volunteer Year 9 Community Project Gardening Leader in a deprived region of Worcester.

What has shocked me was being told I may not be able to run again, this is a big blow as I enjoy running long distance and it was a big shock for me! At my peak my average running pace was 6 minutes & 50 seconds a mile. My best time to date and will never be matched again was 1 mile in 6 minutes and 1 second, I was aiming to keep to that speed that now a distant memory!

I am on the autistic spectrum with Asperger syndrome and always enjoyed running long distance and tend not to listen to other peoples advice to slow down! I was running a 9 mile circuit, 4 times a week in just over 1 hour, I did manage to do it in just under 1 hour, 2 weeks before I had a fall on black ice onto my right knee in January 2013. Since then cannot run anymore that is hard to accept.