Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Yoga Teacher with severe Chondromalacia.  (Read 4033 times)

Offline mndyoga

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Yoga Teacher with severe Chondromalacia.
« on: January 24, 2014, 08:55:18 PM »
Hello,
Happy to have found this forum. I would like to share my knee story and see if any of you out there have similar experience.
I was first diagnosed with patellar pain syndrome about 14 years ago. I am now 44 years old and it has slowly gotten worse over years, and now it's Chondromalacia, despite physical therapy and lots of yoga(I have been teaching for 11 years, practicing for 17). I have very strong quads and very flexible hamstrings and hips, so PT does nothing for me really. I am finally seeing another Orthopedic surgeon and had an MRI done a couple of days ago.
For me, it's not a strength or flexibility thing. I am slightly knock kneed, so my kneecaps do not track evenly, so I know this is why.  I have so much grinding in my knees, I can no longer squat or climb stairs and finding I am losing my ability to do lunges. When I try, it feels like my kneecap is going to explode, no joke. This is heartbreaking for me, as teaching yoga is what I do. I have even started teaching more gentle and meditative classes as a result I can no longer demonstrate as much as I used to in class.
My Ortho said IF the MRI shows significant cart damage, Arthroscopic surgery may be an option, but he usually recommends PT first. I explained how PT has never worked before, as I am already strong and flexible in those areas.
I am wondering, does Arthroscopic surgery work well for those with the tracking problem I have? Any other types of surgeries out there for when it's not a muscle thing? Sometimes my right knee joint swells up so huge, and I can't even bend my leg. This is such a big deal for me, but the doctors all seem to treat it like it's nothing.
Any advice? Thank you in advance.
right ACL removal 7/1/2014
bilateral Chondroplasty 3/25/2014