Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: Knee pain !  (Read 1387 times)

Offline dawnb1968

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 0
  • I'm not crazy. Sometimes you just gotta vent !
Knee pain !
« on: January 30, 2004, 08:08:44 PM »
Hi all,

I had my partial meniscectomy Dec 2. 2003. It went very well, basically a pain free recovery. I have been back to work for about a month now and this past week my knee has hurt more often than not. I am wondering if the popping I have been having in my knee has anything to do with it. My knee even pops doing the straight leg raises( I have continued doing the home exercises and a few of the exercises they had me do at physical therapy that I can do without the machines), when I lower my leg and set my heel back on the floor it pops.Another example ... i can stand and just bend and straighten my knee and it pops almost every time. For the most part the popping doesn't hurt.
I work in a restaurant and I am on my feet anywhere from 9 to 13 hours a day. My OS told me to wear my brace for work which I have on occassion done, I have a donjoy defiance ( I don't wear it that often because it cause my lower leg to itch and blister in the area wear the frame sits.) I have an off the shelf hinged knee brace that I wear instead. My knee pain seems to radiate up to my hip( i hurt my hip at therapy doing platform heel raises?Standing on a platform on injured leg and lowering good leg down to touch heel on floor. My hip is a lot better hardly bothers me now and I do these raises at home) and down to my foot. I have been taking 4 ibuprofen at a time 3 or four times a day. Which does seem to knock the pain out for a while. It is really bothering me at night when I go to bed. I have also noticed that on the medial side of my knee just at the bend putting pressure causes a burning kinda pain (not sure if that makes any sense). I am having my acl reconstructed on Feb 3.