Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: MPFL one year ago still having knee issues  (Read 988 times)

Offline gvaughn42

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
MPFL one year ago still having knee issues
« on: January 09, 2014, 06:46:58 PM »
Hello everyone.  I am 37 and father of two children that are very active.  I am new to this, but need some assistance.  In October of 2013 I had my third and most traumatic lateral patella dislocation in my left knee.  The result was therapy and necessary surgery.  I had MPFL reconstruction from a cadaver tendon, and at the same time had a lateral release performed.  Though I believe, as does my surgeon, that the surgery went well I have struggled to fully recover ever since.  I was in a lot of pain for weeks after the surgery.  As PT began I discovered my muscles had shut down and wouldn't fire.  I began to use a stim machine at home as well as at Pt.  Though a bit behind my goals for range of movement I did eventually get to full ROM ( a painful experience to say the least).  At 6 months I still was struggling to walk normally and the knee felt very unstable, more pt was prescribed.  I followed both Dr. and PT therapists guidelines to the letter, but found I was unable to perform certain exercises without pain.  for example I could/ still cannot do wall squats using a ball or without.  I am now one year from my surgery and I have no pain sitting, riding a bike, but cannot run and have much difficulty going up or down stairs. When I bend my knee and upon straightening it back out I get three loud pops, pain, and a feeling like the patella is catching on something inside or is traveling over something.  This causes enough pain to make even taking laundry upstairs difficult.  Is my problem scar tissue build up or something worse.  What are my options?  I need my life to begin to resemble something normal again as I have two children ages 9 and 6 that desperately want their dad to play with them in the yard.  HELP.  Besides all thes