Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: The Cancelled DFO Surgery  (Read 5176 times)

Offline Lee Tipton

• Forum Faithful
  • Liked: 6
The Cancelled DFO Surgery
« on: November 06, 2013, 12:42:56 AM »
So I have been preparing for today (11/05/13) since June, 2013.  I get to the hospital, get called back to pre-op, they put in the IV, put a patch behind my ear for the nausea from the anesthesia, they even washed down my leg for the pending incision.  I knew I was getting close.

In walks my surgeon and I asked him "How are you?".  He says:  "Angry".  I replied "Well these things happen".  They had bumped me down on the surgery list a couple of times - and I thought that was what he was angry about.

No, he says:  "Somebody on my team made an error and we will not be doing your surgery today".  I thought he was getting ready to say:  "Ha, Ha - let's go".  But he did not.  He says:  "I do not have the correct plate to put in your leg and we cannot do your surgery today". 

I don't know if I should be grateful, angry or what.  My daughter says at least he was honest enough to tell us the truth.  He even said that he could use another plate but that he would not be happy about it and neither would I. 

I do know this however, when God moves - there is no stopping Him.  And for whatever reason I was not intended to have this surgery today.  So I am home waiting on a rescheduling.  If it gets cancelled a second time, there will not be a third.

Thank you God - for what ever you saved me from today. 

Offline chondro...huh?

• Forum Faithful
  • Liked: 4
Re: The Cancelled DFO Surgery
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2013, 04:04:08 AM »
Oh no! I agree it's Gods timing not mine! But, doesn't change the nerve factor!
Susan
07/12 - injury
03/13 - scoping, cleaning
09/13 - TTT

Offline jumbocrayon

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 3
    • Knee Misadventures Blog
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2013, 05:00:16 AM »