Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: TTT and Lateral Release... Recovery Time??  (Read 2751 times)

Offline tttpatient

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
TTT and Lateral Release... Recovery Time??
« on: October 14, 2013, 04:30:40 PM »
Hello,
Im due to have a TTT and Lateral Release in 5 weeks on my left knee due to multiple dislocations.
I was wondering if anyone has had this surgery and could give me a rough idea on how long a would need to take off work?

I know everyone is different but a rough idea would be great :)

My job is pretty hands on... Im a operations manager so im always walking around, carrying things etc and they wont let me back to work on cruthes or on light duties.

Thanks

Offline schnops

• Forum Faithful
  • Liked: 15
Re: TTT and Lateral Release... Recovery Time??
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2013, 01:43:21 AM »
Hey there!
I am now 6 months post op from a TTO and LR.  Hm, well it kind of depends on your surgeons protocols. Some surgeons have their patients NWB for 6 weeks, others have you walking from the start but in a straight leg immobilizer, and others do PWB as tolerated. So it depends. But I would say that if you need to be walking around normally (with your leg not locked out straight), then you would need 6 to 8 weeks off from work. But it does really depend on your surgeons protocols!
TTO, LR, arthoscopy, medial tightening R leg -03/'13
Hardware Removal- 9/'13
TTO, LR, athroscopy, medial tightening L leg- 10/'13
VMO advancement, LR, trochleoplasty

Offline jumbocrayon

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 3
    • Knee Misadventures Blog
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2013, 03:07:23 AM »
Hey :) 

I'm just under 3 weeks post-op for those two, plus additional MPFL repairs and reattachment, and I'm full-weight bearing with crutches until the 6-8 week mark.   My doctor told me absolutely no walking without crutches before 6 weeks, but I also had an additional thing with the MPFL.