Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: My next surgery is set, my journey continues  (Read 1653 times)

Offline Johnnyp060

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 3
My next surgery is set, my journey continues
« on: September 24, 2013, 07:12:21 AM »
 Saw my doc last Tuesday. My surgery is set for December 4th, I get to go through the whole kit and kabootle again. He's replacing the MCL, ACL, PCL and repositioning my kneecap and I'll possibly have an external fixator on after surgery to help with the healing process.  I thought I was only due to get the MCL and kneecap done but beings I've been functioning without an MCL for about 6 months the bones have shifted and stretched the ACL and PCL also. Not sure how I feel about it all yet. But I know it has to be done for me to get back to some sort of normalcy. Cheers, John
3/4/12 Dirtbike crash, tore ACL, PCL and MCL
5/14/12 Surgery done to replace ACL, PCL and MCL with cadaver tendons
12/4/13 ACL and MCL replaced again, kneecap released and anchored and external fixator installed

Offline JFisher3

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
Re: My next surgery is set, my journey continues
« Reply #1 on: October 03, 2013, 09:58:40 PM »
Hey johnny. you may remember me from last year, we suffered practically the same injury at the same time. I have just seen your post about your revision of the acl,pcl,mcl.
Keep your spirits up and hope fully we will get there as will all the other people in this situation.

I too had a revision op what required my pcl and MCL to be done again, fortunately my acl "seemed" tight enough.

I have already had my op on the 16th of this month and i can say that  it deffenitly feels easier this time round, I have just got my new brace and had it set to 20. I come of medication(codien) 4 days after the op and now feel as good as I can in this position.

Good luck and hopefully have a strong and speedy recovery 
Football injury leading to dislocation of tibia and rupture of ACL,PCL,MCL.... Feb 2012.