Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Continuous knee trouble after knee surgery  (Read 1027 times)

Offline alexa33

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Continuous knee trouble after knee surgery
« on: September 05, 2013, 01:15:12 AM »
Hello All!

I'm completely new to this webpage and a little lost on which bulletin to post in but here I am. My frustration has reached its max and so has the pain. On November 17th 2012, I went on a long (3-4 hr) hike, made it through the whole hike without a problem but when I arrived home I got in the shower (tub) and slipped. My legs were so worked and tired that once I slipped my left leg completely went out on me causing my knee to snap as I fell sideways down into the tub and then I landed sitting on the leg. At first, I thought I for sure broke my leg because the pain was ridiculous and I couldn't move my leg at all. Keep in mind that I'm only a 22 year old female and quite fit/athletic. After a couple of minutes, I was able to pull myself up out of the tub using my arms and sat down. Within i'd say 10 minutes, my knee has swollen and the back of my knee had developed a huge sack of liquid and I still couldn't stand on it or put any pressure on it. Well, that quickly led me to the emergency room where they were able to rule out no broken bones or patella damage with a few x-rays. The doctor referred me to an orthopedic surgeon that quickly got me into an MRI. I hit the jackpot! I had a completely torn ACL and PCL tear, as well as meniscus damage and had large amounts of liquid between the joints. A month after the accident, I had surgery using allograft ligaments from a donor since my doctor and his PA suggested that was the best choice for me. Well, I made it through surgery and suffered more pain than I imagined I would throughout the first weeks of recovery. It's been eight months now and instead of being completely cleared, I'm still attending therapy once a week and see my surgeon every 3 weeks. I am not able