Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Osteochondral allograft  (Read 18777 times)

Offline thornburg

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 2
Osteochondral allograft
« on: August 28, 2013, 09:51:32 PM »
Hello all -

This is not my first rodeo on knee geeks, but it is my first time down the Osteochondral allograft road.
I had an Patella ACI back in Dec 2009 that took but now the medial tibial has fallen apart and since doc does not really think a PKR or TKR is the answer yet due to age and activity levels .. we are going with this approach. 

I am curious, how many of you out there have had both:  ACI and Allograph?   Post op pain about the same?   I am mentally dreading the long rehab for this surgery, doc said its very similar to my ACI rehab.  So, I am starting to get mentally geared up as I went on the donor list today. 
How long have most of you had to wait for the donor tissue?

I think I have a pretty good concept of what to expect post surgery regarding pain and rehab, its the pre (waiting) that is a challenge this time around.  How much time has everyone had once donor selected and surgery was performed?

Well ... any insight or experiences and suggestions anyone is willing to share would be greatly appreciated it.   

Offline xclaxmom

• Regular Poster
Re: Osteochondral allograft
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2013, 01:26:50 AM »
Hi. My daughter is having allograft surgery on Wednesday so I don't know how compare the pain level or rehab with an aci  surgery.  I can say that it took 4 weeks for insurance approval and another 4 weeks  to find a match.  Good luck.

Offline thornburg

• Regular Poster
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2013, 01:47:04 PM »
Ya, i had to fight with insurance too .. the ACI was much harder to get approved cuz when I had that procedure it was more of "experimental".   I took me about a month too for approval for the allograft cuz its on the same knee.  (I am sure my insurance company just wants me to get a new knee and be done with it all!)