Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: MPFL Reconstruction  (Read 2901 times)

Offline JadaMichelle10

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 4
MPFL Reconstruction
« on: June 09, 2013, 02:11:45 AM »
Hi! My name is Jada, I'm 18 years old, and yesterday I had my MPFL Reconstruction.

A bit of background: I first dislocated my knee last year doing a dance for my drama class and turned around too quickly. After that, I went through physical therapy and was alright. I did color guard the following year for my school and participated in musicals. Then I dislocated it a second time earlier this year with only 3 weeks of school left. How'd I do it? Bent over to plug up a charger. Since I was about to graduate, the doctor said I would be alright with a brace until I graduated. So I've graduated, went on my senior trip to Disney World, and came home and had my surgery yesterday. I got there at 10:30 for a surgery time of 12:30. We had some issues with the IV and they had to stick me SIX times before getting the IV in. I have an extreme fear of needles so this was the worst part. Surgery went alright and I found myself in the recovery room. I woke up and couldn't breathe (it was just really hard to), with a headache, and a very nauseous stomach. They gave my medicine in my IV for my headache and put a patch behind my ear for the nausea. Both of which didn't help and I had to stay in the recovery room for a long time throwing up. They finally took out my IV and packed me up in the car and I finally got home around 7pm (and my surgery was at 12:30pm). I got home, stayed nauseous for a long time but could stomach a little bit of ice cream. They gave me a block in my leg so my leg was completely numb. It was very hard for me to sleep that night and I had to constantly get up to use the bathroom.