Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: upcoming bilateral arthroscopies  (Read 602 times)

Offline neeseymaye

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
upcoming bilateral arthroscopies
« on: March 14, 2013, 01:17:46 AM »

I have a bilateral knee arthroscopy scheduled on Monday and I would really like some advice concerning this upcoming surgery.  I have a tear in my left medial meniscus and torn articular cartilage in my left knee. I know that I am having a menisectomy in my left knee and a debridement of cartilage.  My right knee usd to feel fine but I now feel that it is worse that my left knee.  My knees are both swollen and feel very heavy.  Every time I make a step, I wince as it is so painful.  It is tough for me to bend my knees because of the swelling.  I am a nurse in a recovery room so I am on my feet so much.  I attempt to sit down every chance I get and I have resorted to using knee braces because they do make me feel so much more secure.  I am only 50 years old but I feel like an old woman and I am getting depressed by all of this.  I know I have some arthritis in my knees also.  I have had two stroid injections into the left knee and I have been on voltaren for the last 6 months twice a day. I do elevate and ice as soon as I get home but my house is a mess and my husband has been doing so many of my responsibilities.  He is sweet about it though.  Whenever I get out of a chair and start walking, it takes much effort!!  Can I get some advice on what to expect after this surgery?   Thank so much!!

Offline DebbieCJ

• MINIgeek (20-50 posts)
  • Liked: 11
Re: upcoming bilateral arthroscopies
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2013, 02:33:59 PM »
Hi there,
You issues sound awful - you have my sympathy!
I have had a bilateral arthroscopy twice - once in April 2008 for a general clean out and again in Sept 2012, for a clean out of my right knee and a biopsy of the cartilage in my left knee - I have a MACI operation scheduled for tomorrow!