Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Fulkerson?!  (Read 594 times)

Offline trish13

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Fulkerson?!
« on: February 08, 2013, 02:52:25 AM »
Im new to knee problems, female 31 years old, pretty active.
 January 2012 I had done something to my left knee to make it unbearable to put weight on it, I had waited a couple months to see if it would heal on its own (I had also just undergone gallbladder removal) no relief. I went to a reputable OS and MRI/xray concluded medial and lateral meniscus tear.

Had arthroscope in May, findings were...ACL and PCL were intact. Medial and Lateral compartment were unremarkable with no chondral defects and the menisci were both medially and laterally intact. But patellofemoral area had synovitis in the area of the super patellar pouch especially laterally near the lateral superior trochlea and lateral gutter and lateral peripatellar area. (no idea what that means) limited synovectomy was performed removing inflamed synovium from this area. Chondroplasy was also performed at the patella where there was extensive grade 2 chondromalacia especially at the lateral facet and inferior aspect to the patella along with the trochlear femoral sulcu. Patella tracked laterally with 30 degrees of flexion. There was +3 lateral retinacular tightness of the patella dn the lateral patellofemoral ligaments. Therefore lateral release was undertaken.

I had some relief and was able to play volleyball for a short time until I started having weight bearing pain again. I am not incapable of doing squats or stairs or high impact sports but it hurts enough to were I favor my knee. I have a pretty high pain tolerance so I'm unsure if I'm just being a wimp or not because the lateral release was suppose to help. I was told that I have tilted patella and my other knee is the same but as the saying goes "if it's not broke don't fix it" so I won't.