Banner - Hide this banner

Author Topic: 2 weeks away from an HTO  (Read 706 times)

Offline Too Young for Knee Issues

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
2 weeks away from an HTO
« on: February 06, 2013, 09:34:28 PM »
I'm a 33-year-old female and I have been very active. After running cross country in college, I graduated and gained some weight. After getting married and trying to plan a family, I joined Weight Watchers and I lost about 40 pounds. A lot of the weight loss was due to running. I was able to beat a lot of my 5K times from college while running road races last year. I've had recurring knee pain since last February (1 year) and the doctors finally did an MRI in January. The surgeon wants to do a High Tibial Osteotomy with opening wedge 2 weeks from today. I still want to be able to run. I'm young. My husband and I want children. I want to run & play with them. The surgeon says my running days are over, even light jogging with our dog. Do I have any alternatives? My knee has begun to bow outward and it is obvious in my gait. I remember an injury last February while running. Since then, I have had multiple doctor visits & 2 cortisone injections. Finally, I had the MRI but I wonder if the surgeon is just looking for something to fix. Evidently, I have no cartilage left in the medial compartment of my knee. Bone-on-bone rubbing is NOT FUN. He claims that I would be having a total knee replacement if i was 50 and probably will need one by then. I'm not ready for the life change involved in an HTO. Any suggestions would be great. I meet with the surgeons February 14th. Please help!

Offline greatfulgann

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 6
Re: 2 weeks away from an HTO
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2013, 09:55:00 PM »
Have you asked your doctor what are your alternatives?  Have you received a second or third opinion?

Offline vickster

• Administrator
  • SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 409
  • Neelie knee!
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2013, 09:59:30 PM »