Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: I need some perspective...please! s/p displaced patellar fracture  (Read 682 times)

Offline Chacha

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Hello.  I'm new to writing on this board, but have been following along for the last 5 mos.  I'm a healthy, fit 52 year old that was doing Crossfit the morning prior to my fall - I'm used to pushing past the pain.  On Sept 7, 2012 I slipped and fell on a wet floor (at work) and broke my R patella in 2 pieces.  The appearance of my R knee was horrifying - I could see the 2 pieces each being pulled away by the quad/tendon and then scooped out in the middle.  Anyways, I had my ORIF with screws and wire wrapped in a figure 8 on 17 Sept.  After the first week post op I really didn't need any pain meds, just tylenol once in a while.  Anyways, recovery has been pretty uneventful, started PT approx 4 weeks post op.  I had my knee in a brace/full extension and was kind of dragging my leg and initiating the movement from my hip/groin with sitting, standing, rolling to my side in bed.  Anyways, as my recovery has progressed I have had gradually increasing hip, groin, R sided lower back pain and SI pain.  I have a pretty high pain tolerance and this pain can be horrible.  I can feel my SI joint pop/move, my R hip/leg just wants to rotate out.  Going from sit to stand and vice versa can be very painful - it takes my breath away.  The pain is so hard to localize but the whole joint (hip) feels...unstable.  The hip giving me troubles is the same side as my patellar fracture.  Has anyone else experienced this?