Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Failed Lateral Release-Help!  (Read 1333 times)

Offline noradaexplora

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Failed Lateral Release-Help!
« on: December 23, 2012, 05:42:16 AM »
This is my first time posting and I am just looking for a little insight and possibly advice/stories from others who have been down a similar road.

I am a 26 year old female living in Colorado and up until this summer was competing as a cyclist and riding a pretty high volume of intense miles for about the past 4-5 years.   
I had a lateral release done on my right knee in 2002, and my left knee was scoped later that same year (the surgeon went in with the intention of doing a LR on that knee as well but decided against it--thank god!!).  I've known for years that my right knee was never as good as my left, and just not quite "normal."  I didn't start doing intense exercise/training for years after the lateral release, and it was then that the difference in the two sides began to show up.
My left knee hasn't been exactly pain free, but my right knee has been the real trouble-maker most of the time.  My vastus lateralis never really developed as well on the right side, and I know that when biking my knee dips in on that side, quite noticeably.  I've gone to PT off and on for years and always been told that I just need to strengthen that side.  Problem is, my knee always gets so sore and painful after any real attempts at even modified strength training that it just doesn't work.
This summer the right knee began to get worse and worse, with pain predominantly behind the knee. Then, I started getting more frequent and intense pain underneath the front of my kneecap as well.
I got an MRI, did more PT, just kept getting worse.  The MRI showed a baker's cycst behind that knee as well as some moderate cartilage degeneration.