Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: PCL/MRI Result  (Read 870 times)

Offline Billb

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
PCL/MRI Result
« on: December 21, 2012, 03:38:33 PM »
Newbie here and to be the honest the more I read the more concerned I get.  Any help/advice is appreciated. 

3 months ago went high end of my bike into the side of a car.  ribs, liver chin and knee all messed up.  Only the knee is still hurting.  GP said to wait full 6 weeks before going to ortho just to see if it would heal.  Ortho scheduled MRI and the results are back.  Ortho doc says it is a grade 2 tear and only thing to do is to stregthen quad.  Well I have many questions and even more once I got home and read the MRI report. 
1) will my knee ever stop hurting when I bend it past 45% (Kneeling or crouching)
2) extreme pain still when I stomp my foot, will that go away as well. 
3) The big question is that the mri result says:
             "High-grade if not complete full-thickness tear of the proximal and mid PCL.  Intact ACL and collateral ligaments."

From what I am reading that is a Grade 3 tear and a lot worse than a grade 2.  Then there is the fear of premature arthritus setting in if no surgery is done.   I've retyped the whole MRI results and can post them if someone out there could help translate.

Many Thanks
Billb

Offline GIMPocalypse

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Re: PCL/MRI Result
« Reply #1 on: December 24, 2012, 07:04:48 AM »
Billb,

Welcome!  So glad to find another PCL'er on here...while simultaneously feeling bad that you're in this situation.

My injury was 15 weeks ago...went to the hospital as soon as the injury happened (head first sliding into third base in a softball game--but somehow landed leg knee down first)

I ended up in full immobilization for about 6 days, saw two OS before I finally was sent to PT being told essentially that nothing was wrong.