Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Newbie Here, Having Trillat Tomorrow  (Read 890 times)

Offline EH9905

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Newbie Here, Having Trillat Tomorrow
« on: December 03, 2012, 01:56:02 PM »
I am a 38 y/o with PF problems for 15 years.  Failed lateral release 12/04.  Tore ligament 07/11.  Scheduled for Trillat tomorrow. 
I have extreme anxiety :o over the procedure and recovery.  Anyone that can give insight would be greatly appreciated. ;)
Thank you.
Erika

Offline EH9905

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
Re: Newbie Here, Having Trillat Tomorrow
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2012, 07:18:45 PM »
Just found out from surgical nurse they are also doing a lateral release.  I already had a failed lateral release in 08, wonder if it will work this time in addition to the TTT.

Offline Lottiefox

• SuperKNEEgeek
  • Liked: 16
« Reply #2 on: December 03, 2012, 10:17:17 PM »
I think when a TTT is done the LR is usually more effective as it is in conjunction with the larger realignment surgery - from my reading they need to do some releasing of the soft tissues according to the TTT location.

Good luck tomorrow. Have a look down on the Diaries section, there are a few people having TTTs done, you could also start your own diary and keep us posted?

Lottie  :D
Bilateral patella OA since 2009, no surgeries.
Euflexxa working well x3 to current
Right forefoot CRPS post fusion surgery 2011
Refusing to let the ailing parts stop me....

Offline Elle0383

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 2
« Reply #3 on: December 03, 2012, 11:23:52 PM »
I had a TTT, lateral lengthening (like the release, but instead of completely releasing it, my surgeon just made it more lax), and an MPFL reconstruction 3 weeks ago.  I haven't heard many success stories when a lateral release was done on its own.  All of it depends on the underlying anatomy of your knee.  Considering your surgeon deemed a TTT necessary, this is probably why the past lateral release didn't work.