Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Significant pain 5 weeks post op pkr  (Read 1067 times)

Offline meganboc

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Significant pain 5 weeks post op pkr
« on: October 15, 2012, 01:54:26 PM »
HI, I'm a newbie. :)
I had a PKR about 5 weeks ago.  I'm still in quite a lot of pain and still need assistance when walking much of the time.  It's still quite swollen which I suppose is normal.  My pain is on the medial side for the most part.  It also "catches"  which is very disconcerting.  It pops and clicks a lot but I'm guessing that's normal too.  If my leg has been bent I have trouble and pain straightening it out.  Occasionally it goes out from under me.

I should preface by saying that my experience in the hospital post-op was a nightmare.  The PA that was supposed to be in charge didn't want to hear that I was in so much pain and disappeared Friday morning and I didn't check out until Saturday night.  It's quite involved, but my pain level was never lower than an 8.  I was very upset and wrote the PA a letter so he wouldn't do this to anyone else.  I don't know if this effected my appointment but it shouldn't have so it's kind of irrelevant.