Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Arthritic patella induced limp, back pain (and Synvisc)  (Read 865 times)

Offline JTB

• Regular Poster
  • Liked: 6
Arthritic patella induced limp, back pain (and Synvisc)
« on: October 12, 2012, 06:17:27 PM »
Am going into my 10th month post patella chondroplasty and lateral release and my knee is worse off post-surgery: knee buckles and the patella locks-up from time to time and when locked-up, hurts, swells, etc. Have a bunch of compressed discs and vertebra from a previous injury, and partly because I've been limping around for 10 months, my back has starting to really bother me in earnest. Last week I spent several days in bed until the Flexeril kicked in (I don't like drugs in general, and Flexeril is one of my least favorite). Is back difficulty a common side-effect for chronic limpers and if so, does any one have and recommendations as remedy: obvious or otherwise?

« Last Edit: December 13, 2012, 03:13:30 PM by JTB »
Bike racer electing sport-med scope Jan 2011 for patella catch: shave patella, MFC and trochlea (with sneaky lateral release) Grade 3 findings. @ 1 year, CRPS, pain inhibition, muscle atrophy, osteopenia, sudden bilateral chondromalacia. in free-fall 2 1/2 years.
Today on Strava riding well.

Offline beachymama

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Re: Arthritic patella induced limp, back pain (and Synvisc)
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2012, 07:48:40 PM »
I don't know much, but I know since I started having my current problem in August I have been limping and trying to keep from putting a ton of stress or twisting on my painful knee leg. It has completely thrown my entire body out of whack, from my lower back to my neck. I told my husband I feel like I'm 110! It's amazing how our body systems work together and how one little thing can just throw everything off balance.
1992: (R) Medial reefing & lateral release
1993: (L) Medial reefing & lateral release