Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Any Evidence That Chrondroitin Can be Linked to High Cholesterol Levels?  (Read 976 times)

Offline wonkyknee

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
I'm not sure if anybody will be able to help me but I thought it was worth a shot as I have used this forum before and found it most useful.
I am taking a chrondroitin supplement ( 500mg) per day for problems with my knee and that along with using an exercise bike for ten minutes each day is really doing the trick and I cannot remember the last time that I had to take any form of painkiller for my knee. I have been doing both of these things for three years now
I recently went for a cholesterol level check and was amazed to find that whilst my level was 149 six years ago it was 245 this time which is 20 points over teh higher level for normality ( I know the way of measuring is different in the UK). My diet is actually much better than it was six years ago and I hardly have any of 'the bad foods' so I cannot understand why there is this increase.
I have been trawling the internet ( as you do) and have found a couple of places where it states that chrondroitin can lead to raised levels of cholesterol but also found sites that say it reduces levels.
I was just wondering if any users had had a similar experience to me and they could link it to their use of chrondroitin.
My doctor has just said that I should not eat fats!!
I look forward to receiving your replies but I do understand that this is not teh normal type of question to be asked on here and am not really sure that it actually is a 'knee problem'.
Many thanks in advance.

Offline wonkyknee

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
Re: Any Evidence That Chrondroitin Can be Linked to High Cholesterol Levels?
« Reply #1 on: October 29, 2012, 07:52:58 PM »
Just wanted to update this post.