Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: Need Advice - s/p ACL/LCL/PLC Recon, now need 2-stage ACL revision  (Read 3096 times)

Offline turkdlit

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
Need Advice - s/p ACL/LCL/PLC Recon, now need 2-stage ACL revision
« on: September 23, 2012, 07:00:16 PM »
Hi all,

I'm a 32 year-old physician and up until this point I haven't had any trouble in making decisions following the management of my knee. But I'm having a tough time with my current dilemma and was hoping some of you knee pros could help me out.

Long story short - patella dislocation, ruptured ACL, LCL, PLC (everything gone except hamstring tendon) and grade 2 PCL tear playing soccer a year ago. Horrific injury. Ex-collegiate soccer player. Had ACL/LCL allograft recon, and PLC recon/capsule repair. Everything was rosy, no complications, but progressive knee instability from months 6-12 after surgery. Had MRI - ACL looks stretched. Subsequent CT scan shows marked femoral and tibial ACL tunnel widening (both nearly doubled in diameter) resulting in a loose and non-functional ACL (although the graft is still attached).

Got 2 opinions (one from original orthopod, one from a multi-ligament expert who is a part of Freddie Fu's group), both agree that the only way to restore stability is a 2-stage ACL revision. 1st stage to remove non-functional ACL and do bone graft, then 4 months later they can do an bone-patellar tendon-bone autograft from the injured leg.

I have no idea what to do. I'm not able to put my full weight on the affected leg when standing as the joint will begin to feel like its "opening up". I'm able to walk w/no problem, but if I'm not paying attention the knee will buckle slightly. Able to do weights and ride bike w/out any issues. Running is ok too but usually pretty sore afterwards. Pivot sports like soccer are a no-go, and I do miss it a lot.