Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: 03.09.12 Left patella stabilisation  (Read 8367 times)

Offline NiallSt

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
03.09.12 Left patella stabilisation
« on: September 23, 2012, 11:12:07 AM »
Hi, I'm new to this and thought I would share my experience to date.

I had a my knee surgery on the 3rd September 2012 to resolve ongoing left patella stabilisation that I had since I was young.  The surgery involved arthroscopy with debridement patella surface, medial tibial tubercle transfer (TTT) and MPFL reconstruction.

It is now 20 days post-surgery (taking day 1 to be 4th September) and I am very happy with progress to date.  I am not sure though whether I am just lucky.  Here is a brief history of recovery:

Pain: Pain was manageable at about 4-5 out of 10 from post-surgery to day 6.  On the morning of day 6, pain increased to about 8 in the morning but stabilised during the day.  I was taking 2 x 500Mg Paracetamol 4 times daily, 1 Ibuprofen 3 times daily (a leg although stopped taking these quite early), up to 2 x 30mg Codeine 4 times daily (although mostly took 1 during the day, 2 at night).  I stopped all pain meds on day 13 as I didn't need them anymore (probably could have stopped couple of days earlier during the days).

Mobility: I was advised to use a TROM brace for first 2 weeks with up to 30 degrees movement.  Most of the time I locked it at 0 degrees and sat with my leg up.  I was lucky my wife isn't working and was happy to do everything for me.  During walking I was allowed as much pressure through my leg as I could stand.  I estimate this was up to 50% normal in week 2, 25% in week one. My left leg muscles have mostly disappeared.