Advertisement - Hide this advert

Author Topic: chondromalacia advice needed  (Read 1436 times)

Offline akurl

• MICROgeek (<20 posts)
  • Liked: 0
chondromalacia advice needed
« on: August 12, 2012, 04:39:31 AM »
I'm a newbie, and looking for some knee advice as I prepare for my ortho consult later this week.

A quick background: I'm a 36yo female, very active, and have been experiencing knee pain and creaking/cracking off and on for about a year. There wasn't a particular injury or insult to it that I'm aware of. I can still fully participate in exercise, as it's not terribly painful or limiting- it just aches later on and is REALLY crepitus (sounds like I'm walking through the woods, breaking sticks). I've been avoiding certain exercise routines that I typically enjoy (like running and zumba), and have taken up activities like "aqua tone" to try to strengthen without further exacerbating. I ice it 1-2 times a day (especially after exercise), and I take an anti-inflammatory and glucosamine & chondroitin twice daily.

The diagnosis from the MRI is:
"thinning of the articular cartilage in the lateral compartment, prepatellar subcutaneous edema, focal moderate chondromalacia at the apex and some thinning of the prepatella cartilage along the media facet, mild joint effusion." All tendons and ligaments are intact, no meniscal tear, no popiteal cyst.

So my question is:
What does treatment for this diagnosis typically look like? How about the outcome?
Is this something that's usually chronic and a precursor to osteoarthritis, or can I expect to fully rehab it (and eventually run a 1/2 marathon or marathon)?

Also, can anyone help recommend a good knee doctor? I'm in Lancaster county, PA.

Thanks in advance for any input!!

Offline silverghost

• Forum Faithful
  • Liked: 1
Re: chondromalacia advice needed
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2012, 08:39:26 AM »
Hi